Make trendy pants out of an old ones.

I had this pair of pants that I never wear but keep them on my closet just in case one day I feel like wearing them… time passed by, and they were still in my closet, so I thought it was time to do something with them or give it to someone that would wear them…

Before


After


And this is what I did:
Cut your waistband off with a seam ripper, and also cut the legs,
Measure around your lower legs, and your hip.
Cut two pieces of 6″ x 10″ (this will be the legs, fold in half, to get a 3″ x 10″ band)
Cut one rectangle of 8″ x 29″ , which will be the waistband. Since I´m using a stretchy fabric, I did it a bit smaller than the measurement of my waistline. And also this will be folded in half lengthwise.
Sew the short sides of the cotton/lycra knit together.
Fold in half longways
so now you have 2 pieces of 3″x10″ and one piece of 4″ x 29″.
Pin your cotton/lycra waistband to the top of your pants, just stretch it to fit your pants, and sew around the waistline.
do the same for the legs.

Since I´m not very good with instructions, and I didn´t took pictures of the process here you can find a better explanation of how to do the waistband. I just avoid the elastic part. I use the Lycra as elastic. I´ll keep doing more of this pants, next time I´ll take pictures.

One thought on “Make trendy pants out of an old ones.

  1. Cara says:

    These are so cute Jordana! Im glad ur posting on ur blog again!! Hopefully ill see you in september!

Leave a Reply

