how did everything started / Como comenzo todo

Lets see, how did my passion for crafts started??? mmmh perhaps last holidays when my mom gave me a sewing machine for xmas. Or maybe when i lived in Mexico city and on these boring afternoons somehow found a cool yarn that needed to become something and i asked an old lady seating at the park if she could teach me to knit. Or even after, when I i felt like making my own clothes for my barbies. But, no, I think it was before that, when I was a kid and Santa brought me a Crafting Box for children, with plastic needles, crochet hooks, and also knitting needles. Some how each xmas was a push for creativity, every time I got a drawing suitcase, or wood sewing boxes, or crayons, watercolors, or pastel sticks.But, now that i think of it, i can tell you it was before I was born, since my dad is an Artistic craftsman, and so does my Mom. So I guess I just have it in my blood.

Veamos, como empezo mi pasion por las crafts (no me gusta decirles manualidades). Tal vez cuando mi mama me regalo una maquina de coser en navidad hace dos años, o tal vez cuando vivia en la Ciudad de Mexico, y en esas aburridas tardes que me iba a caminar al parque Mexico en la condesa, y un dia vi una viejita que se sentaba todas las tardes a tejer y se me ocurrio pedirle que me enseñara. O quiza fue antes, cuando tenia barbies y me gustaba hacerles su ropita. Pero creo que no, ninguna de esas, creo fue antes de eso, cuando era mas chica y cada navidad Santa me traia un costurero, con agujas y ganchos de plastico, para niños. De alguna manera, las navidades eran un empujoncito para mi creatividad, siempre me regalaban paquetes con colores, plumones y crayolas, o materiales para pintar. Pero ahora que lo pienso bien, mi amor nacio much antes, quiza antes queyo naciera, pues mi papa es un super artista/artesano/pintor/carpintero y mi mama no se queda atras en eso de la cosida. Asi que me imagino que lo traigo en la sangre.

I leave you with some of my childhood photos.

Leave a Reply

