Sad February / Febrero Triste

3 years ago… I used to live in Mexico City, 4:15 am, I got a phone call. On the other side of the phone was a friend of the family, she said: I’m sorry… I ask her, Why? and then she answered, your brother had an accident….. Next thing I’m flying back to cancun on the first morning flight. He didn’t just had an accident he also died than night.

Hace tres años, yo vivia en la ciudad de Mexico, y una madrugada recibi una llamada, del otro lado estaba una amiga y me dijo: lo siento mucho, le pregunte, por que, que paso? y me repondio, tu hermano Elias tuvo un accidente……Vole de vuelta a Cancun en el primer vuelo de manaña. No solo tuvo un accidente, sino que fallecio en ese accidente.

He was 25 years old, and worked in a Nightclub, and that night, going home after work he loose control of his Motorcycle and hit a concrete post, we still don’t know what really happened.  I don’t mean to make you feel sad, I just want to share a bit of my life with you, and sadly this is a part of my life. And around this days the sad feeling comes back again, today, February 1st, is his 3 year anniversary, and like every year since he died we do a ceremony for him, we go to mass and we make a ceremony at the reef,  we leave flowers for him, send him our thoughts. why at the reef you ask, well his ashes were left there in the ocean, in front of Puerto Morelos, our home town. That was his wish.

Tenia 25 años, trabajaba en una disco, y esa noche, saliendo del trabajo, perdio el control de su moto y se estrello contra un poste de concreto. he de decir que mi intension no es ponerlos tristes por mi, solo queria compartir un poco de mi vida con ustedes, y esto, desgraciadamente, es parte de mi vida. Ademas, hoy, primero de Febrero, es su tercer aniversario. cada año, ademas de hacerle su misa, tambien vamos al arrecife, a dejarle flores, ya que sus cenizas fueron esparcidas en el mar como el pidio, enfrente de Puerto Morelos.

And today I’ll like to share the pictures of this year’s ceremony with you.

My brother Gabriel Mi hermano Gabriel
My Mom, Dad and family Mi Mama, Papa y familia
My mom and dad, trowing what was left of his ashes.
Mi mama y papa dejando ir las ultimas cenizas de mi hermano.
Elias Castro Fernandez 25 Nov 1979 – 1 Feb 2005

2 thoughts on “Sad February / Febrero Triste

Leave a Reply

